Monday, 26 January 2015

Women football league due Jan 31

The national women football league is set to kick off on January y 31 according to Felicite Rwemalika, the head of women football in the country.

Thirteen teams will take part in the six-month league. They include defending champions AS Kigali, Inyemera, Rambura, Yuvia, Bugesera, Rugende, Nyagatare, Freedom de Gacyenye, Kamonyi, Academic Girls, Atletico Huye , The Winners and Mutunda. Rwanda women football league is sponsored by Fifa through an annual grant of $70,000 (Rwf48 million).

However, Rwemalika says the money is not enough to cater for the teams throughout the season. He said they were exploring ways of securing additional sponsorship.

“We are supposed to cater for transport, meals as well as playing kit. We hope the corporate world will respond positively so as to build on Fifa’s support and help take women football in Rwanda to the next level,” Rwemalika said. National women football league started in 2006.


Post a comment