Monday, 12 May 2014

Seychelles second edition Arts Fair celebrates creative expressions

The Seychelles Arts Festival returned for its second edition with twenty four sculptures and artists combined with twenty four photographers lined up in the grounds of the National Cultural Centre in Victoria for the second edition of Arts Fair held May 2-3, 2014.

The Arts Fair which is officially cemented in the National Arts Council calendar of events, showcased a dynamic and inter disciplinary pool of different forms of arts and new opportunities of discovering new artistic talents and creative expressions. The highlight was a new brand, “Mavrik,” a local appellation created by Seychellois artist Cindy Socrate, together with her counterparts. Anne Roselness surfaced with a fascinating creation of glass painting. National Arts Council said this edition was an ideal platform for artists to indulge in daily work of the Council. Jimmy Savy, Chief Executive Officer of National Arts Council said work of the council “should remain visible to the general public". This edition of Arts Fair was offset with pouring rain, discouraging mass visitors.

However it did not discourage artistes, sculptures, photographers, poets and musicians to come down in numbers embracing the unpredicted weather and sell their art works. Despite much enthusiasm among the National Arts Council team, second edition of Arts Fair felt short of becoming a thrilling success. This event was also the opportunity for Minister Alain St.Ange, the Minister responsible for Tourism and Culture to meet the Chairperson of the different Creative Arts Associations and to discuss the opening of the Arts Gallery in the National Cultural Centre. Minister St.Ange has agreed to meet the artists in the coming month to set the dye for the Official Opening of the Arts Gallery which will also house the National Collection of paintings presently being kept in storage. The Minister toured all the exhibits accompanied by Mr. Jimmy Savy, the CEO of the National Arts Council and the Chairpersons of the different Creative Arts Associations.


Post a Comment