Friday, 30 May 2014

Cycling administration usher in new leaders

The administration of the sport of cycling in this country has entered a new era following the election of a President, Vice, General Secretary, treasurer and three executive members to govern the Ghana Cycling Federation.

Incumbent President, Mohammed Sahnoon was retained unopposed at the association's 2 delegates congress on Saturday as Teye Doku and Dennis Moore also went unopposed to become the Vice President and General Secretary, all on four year mandates.

Ali Umar is the treasurer after polling 14 votes to the seven of Sefa Bamfo for the only contested position whereas Hassan Musa, Amen Ametor and Nathaniel Agoe got elected as executive members, also all unopposed.

The new executives jump straight into action with the impending Commonwealth Games in July on the horizon. 3 officials are expected the 6-man cycling team that leaves Accra headed for neighbouring Ivory Coast for a 10-nation African tournament spearheading Commonwealth Games preparations.

Samuel Anim, Godwin Dzeha, Isaac Sackey, Anthony Boakye, Abdul Razak Umar and Aminu Mohammed will do battle for Ghana in Abidjan ahead of the Glasgow Games.


Post a comment